top of page

London Camp

Hellooooo I am back and this time I have more to tell you:)

I already told you in my former blog posts that I am on holiday wright now.

On Friday (yes, we hadn't got school on that day:)) I went to town with a few (ok, we were about 15) girls of my school to celebrate the birthday of one of my friends. It was a nice day and we did some shopping and ate at Subway. It was the first time that I tried it and I liked it but wouldn't say that the taste was amazing. You all may think that I am totally crazy not to try Subway for 16 years but I never saw the purpose of eating a sandwich for 10 francs and heyy I'm still alive.:)

On Saturday and Sunday I stayed most of the time at home and did my homework. Boooring....

Monday was the day when the adventure took its beginning! I took the bus at 9:14 and reached the railway station in Bedford at around 9:45. There I waited for my Local Coordinator and some other exchange students to arrive. The train to London left Bedford at 10:24. After 1h of talking, dozing and starring out of the window the doors of the train opened and I finally stepped out inhaling London's air:)

However, I had been glad to early as we had to wait 40 minutes in a queue to get our oyster card. Then we drove around with the underground to collect all students at the different stations. When most of the students had been picked up, our Local Coordinator told us to go to the British Museum to have some lunch there. This was the first confusion. We crossed nearly whole London with our suitcases and backpacks and when we arrived at the museum we weren't sure if we should enter the building because a large crowd of people was in front of us. We phoned our L.C but as always in such situations she didn't pick up her phone. After another 30 minutes she finally called us back and told us to enter. But the problems didn't want to stop. We had to open our suitcases and backpacks and they rummaged in all (I just want to emphasize all) our things. One girl couldn't even go in because her suitcase was too big. We were really tired and hungry and just wanted to eat and sleep. The Local Coordinator arrived in the end and told us that we have to go to our hostel and leave our suitcases there, then pick some street food and travel to the London Bridge Experience. After one hour of rushing and eating we entered the tomb. It was really scary!! It was like an exhibition where you walked from room to room but there were hidden monsters and ghosts and I was even declared as a witch! Luckily they didn't decide to throw me into the river to look if I am swimming or drowning. Puhhh..:)

We ate diner at a restaurant called "Planet Hollywood" and it was a very lovely and funny evening. The food was delicious and we even could decide which music they should put on. With a full belly and new energy we walked around in London and it was stunning. During the day, London is such a busy city that the beauty sometimes gets lost and hidden by the many people, cars and buses. But at night time when the street lights are turned on and you can walk along the Thames - it's just so wonderful and relaxing! We took many pictures and got to bed late.

Day two was even better than day one. After breakfast we headed to the London Bridge, where we made a Duck Tour. As you may suggest from the name - it wasn't just a normal bus tour. Our transport rather looked like a boat than a bus and this was the reason why it could swim on the water and simultaneously drive on the road! I really enjoyed this trip.

Afterwards we split each other into different groups and had some free time. We visited Covent Garden, did some shopping there, nearly lost somebody but finally managed to go back to the meeting point. We ate dinner at an Italian restaurant and then went to a backyard cinema called "Jungle Adventure". With some popcorn and ice cream the film was even better and I enjoyed the evening even though the film was very exaggerated and not realistic at all but it was funny to watch:)

Wednesday was the last day. We ate breakfast as usual, left our luggage there and had some free time. I went to Oxford Street with my group and we did some (ok, not some-a lot) of shopping. We had some issues to get to our meeting point at the railway station as one girl realized that she left her jacket in the hostel. As a consequence we had to run all the way back and missed the train we were supposed to take...but we managed to arrive in Bedford without any broken legs or lost people! I was sad that the trip was over but on the other side happy that I could get some rest!:)

Oki doki, hopefully I could help some people, who aren't sure if they should join the camp or not:)

Have a nice day! (I know, I am not very creative in writing my last words..)

Evelyn X

RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page